Who's who in IATEFL

Head Office

If you have a question, or need some help, please contact the IATEFL Head Office team. All Head Office staff are now working from home, following UK Government guidelines.

Our working hours are 09.00 - 17.00 UK time Monday - Friday.

For membership matters, please email our Membership Officer, Lucy Julians at [email protected] or call Lucy on +44 (0) 7340 406 821.
For finance matters, please email our Finance and General Administrator, Linda James on [email protected]. To make a payment please call Linda on +44 (0) 7821 531 255 between 9.00 and 13.00 UK time.

Other staff members can be reached via their personal email accounts or via [email protected]

  • Chief Executive: Jon Burton
  • Deputy Chief Executive: Louise Atkins
  • Senior Bookkeeper: Iwona Minkowska
  • Conference Organiser: Michelle Gossling
  • Deputy Conference Organiser: Sarah Ward
  • Exhibition, Sponsorship and Advertising Officer: Annie Park  
  • Membership Officer: Lucy Julians
  • Special Interest Groups and Publications Officer: Eleanor Baynham
  • Jobs Market and Careers Fair Officer: Freya Rutt
  • Finance Administrator: Linda James

Postal address for IATEFL Head Office: IATEFL, 2-3 The Foundry, Seager Road, Faversham, ME13 7FD, UK

Patron, Trustees and Advisory Council

Patron: Professor David Crystal, OBE, FBA

Board of Trustees:

Harry Kuchah Kuchah

Vice President
Gabriel Diaz Maggioli

Acting Treasurer
Bethany Cagnol

Ros Wright

Membership & Marketing Committee Chair
Mojca Belak

Special Interest Group (SIG) Representative
Judith Mader

Associates Representative
Lou McLaughlin

Digital Committee Chair
Shaun Wilden

Trustees can also be contacted by emailing: [email protected]

Advisory Council: 

  • As Patron: David Crystal
  • As Editor of the ELTJ: Dr Alessia Cogo
  • Individual members: Amos Paran, Roy Cross, Catherine Walter and Johannes Wassenberg

Executive Committees

Associates Committee: Lou McLaughlin (Chair), Marta Bujakowska and Lucy Julians 

Conference Committee: Harry Kuchah Kuchah (Chair), Louise Atkins,  Jon Burton, Michelle Gossling, Sarah Mount, Annie Park, Sarah Ward and Ros Wright

Digital Committee: Shaun Wilden (Chair), Louise Atkins, Sanja Bozinovic, Marcio Oliveira, Pola Papadopoulou and Georgia Papamichailidou

Membership & Marketing Committee: Mojca Belak (Chair), Syke Annamma Kumaran, Gerhard Erasmus, Lucy Julians, Maria-Araxi Sachpazian and Bozica Saric-Cvjetkovic

Publications Committee:  Gabriel Diaz Maggioli (Chair), Eleanor Baynham, Marina Gonzalez, Vicky Papageorgiou and Arum Perwitasari

Other Committees

Scholarship Committee: Maureen McGarvey (Chair), Ben Beaumont, Amos Paran, Christian Ludwig, Nora Tartsay-Nemeth, Adrian Tennant and Sarah Ward

Voices Editor: Tania Pattison

  • The Editor of Voices can also be contacted by post via Head Office, at IATEFL, 2-3 The Foundry, Seager Road, Faversham, Kent, ME13 7FD, United Kingdom

Conference Selections Editor: Deborah Bullock

IATEFL representative on the ELTJ panel: Shelagh Rixon

IATEFL representative on the ELTJ Management Board: Catherine Walter

Business English Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Rob Howard and Maria Szugfil


English for Speakers of Other Languages Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Lesley Painter-Farrell


  • Newsletter editor: Mike Chick 
  • Reviews editor: Lesley Painter-Farrell
  • Social media manager: Roshii Jolly
  • Website coordinator: Pauline Blake-Johnston

English for Specific Purposes Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Caroline Hyde-Simon


Global Issues Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Rose Aylett & Varinder Unlu


  • Publications: Linda Ruas
  • Publications & events: Hind Elyas & Margarita Kosior
  • Online: Gergö Fekete & László Hajba

Inclusive Practices and Special Educational Needs Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Anne Margaret Smith


  • Secretary: Aysen Deger
  • Treasurer: Jana Jilkova
  • Events coordinator: Anette Igel 
  • Newsletter editor: Maha Hassan
  • Social media coordinator: Rachael Harris
  • Committee member without portfolio: Giovanni Licata
  • Web manager: Agnieszka Dzięcioł-Pędich 

Learner Autonomy Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Christian Ludwig and Lawrie Moore-Walter


Leadership and Management Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Andy Hockley


  • Publications & networking: George Pickering
  • Publications and mentoring: Gerhard Erasmus 
  • Events & publications: Liam Brown
  • Events & publications: Evrim Üstünlüoğlu
  • Events & membership: Josh Round
  • Networking & mentoringLoraine Kennedy
  • Membership & secretary: Jenny Johnson
  • Mentoring & web team: Marina Gonzalez
  • Design & web team: Katherine Martinkevich

Literature Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Rob Hill


  • Outgoing treasurer: Amos Paran
  • Outgoing newsletter editor & academic journal Bridges editor: Chris Klein-Wolf
  • Extensive reading: Thomas N. Robb
  • Web coordinator: Malu Sciamarelli
  • Events coordinator: vacancy
  • Social media coordinator: vacancy

Learning Technologies Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Sophia Mavridi and Vicky Saumell


Materials Writing Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Aleksandra Popovski


  • Events coordinators: Clare Maas, Katherine Bilsborough and Fiona Mauchline
  • Publications coordinator: Ceri Jones
  • Deputy publications coordinator: Penny Hands
  • Technology and social media coordinator: Jennifer Dobson
  • Website manager: Nicholas Tims

Pronunciation Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Gemma Archer and Adam Scott


Research Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Ana Inés Salvi


Teacher Development Special Interest Group

Coordinator: Tyson Seburn


  • Publications & #tdsiglive: Fiona Mauchline
  • Publications and website: Adam Simpson
  • Publications & scholarships / ECT: Chris Farrell
  • Publications & #tdsiglive: Cecilia Lemos
  • Publications: Serkan Aras
  • Website & social media: Michael Harrison
  • Developod: Tania Meridew, James Taylor and Christian Tiplady
  • Social media & Developod: James Taylor
  • Social Media & scholarships / ECT: Irene Varela
  • Developod & scholarships / ECT: Tania Meridew

Teacher Training and Education Special Interest Group

Joint Coordinators: Burcu Tezcan-Unal and Bahar Gun


Testing, Evaluation and Assessment Special Interest Group

CoordinatorMehvar Ergun Turkkan


  • Joint webinar coordinators: Neil Bullock and Anna Soltyska
  • Testing Evaluation and Assessment Today editor:  Maggi Lussi Bell
  • Webmaster: Thom Kiddle
  • Social media coordinator: Saeede Ide Haghi
  • Events coordinator: vacancy

Young Learners and Teenagers Special Interest Group

Coordinator: David Valente


IATEFL gives an opportunity to broaden my view of English teaching
English language teacher